Every year, I seem to have new ideas of fun decorations to make to add to my collection.  This year I was thinking it would be nice to have a Christmas pillow on our bed, so I started a search for the perfect pillow.  I couldn’t find exactly what I had in mind, so I decided to make my own.  I thought of different phrases and then words to some of my favorite Christmas songs that I could embroider on the pillow and finally decided to do “I’m dreaming of a White Christmas”, which is what I’m hoping for 🙂 and it seemed perfect to have on our bed.  I chose a pretty burgundy linen type fabric for the background to go with the colors in our room and also found some cute fabric snowflake buttons in different sizes to attach around the lettering, which I did with white satin embroidery floss.  It looks just right on our bed – I’m glad I wasn’t able to find one in the stores, this one will be more special, plus it was fun to make.D4

D3Another decoration I decided to do this year was inspired from a photo in my Victorian Homes magazine.  In one of the featured homes, there was a photo of a darling vintage tree that just struck a cord with me.  It reminded me of one that was in my Great Aunt Inez’s home when we would visit her on Christmas Day each year when we were little.  Once I decided on which room to put it in, I found a perfect sized tree that I painted with a combination of white and beige to give it the antique look.  Then I went on the search to find small vintage ornaments for the tree at various bazaars and second hand shops.  There are many vintage ornaments around, but none of the very small size I needed for my tree.  So this has become a fun adventure whenever I’m out to see if I can find just the right little ornaments.  If it doesn’t happen this year, the tree is just fine with the ones I have found, although some of them are just a little too big for the tree, so I can replace them as I find others.  At one of the bazaars, I found a perfect beaded pearl garland that was just the right size and vintage feel for the tree.  I purchased a beautiful mercury glass bowl to set the tree in and then covered the base of the tree inside the bowl with a shimmery lavender and silver material.D6

Merry Christmas to all of you – remember to take time out now and then, have a nice cup of eggnog or sit down and relax with a good Christmas novel, and enjoy the special moments of the holidays.

