Tags

, , ,

I have been falling in love with the velvet fabric pumpkins that are in the magazines and catalogues right now, so I decided to make my own.  I bought some nice brownish gold crushed velvet fabric and some dry beans for the fill.  One set of directions I saw online said to use the stem from a real pumpkin, but I thought I’d rather use a stem off a plastic decorative pumpkin so it would last.  I bought a plastic pumpkin at the craft store and just pulled off the stem to use on my large fabric pumpkin.  I just cut out a large circle and sewed a seam around the edge, inserted string in the seam and pulled together slightly and then filled it with the dry beans to the right size.  Then I pulled the seam closed and tied it off.  I hot glued the stem to the top and that was all there was to it.  I love how it turned out.

I had so much fun making it, so I cut a smaller circle to make a little pumpkin.  I followed the same steps, and for the stem I cut a twig off one of our trees in the backyard and wound a wire around the stem.07

large pumpkin

08

