Tags

,

I had such a great time this Christmas with creating special handmade gifts for family and friends.  One of my favorite things to do is woodburn people’s pets.  It is such a thrill to see them come to life through the process.  My friend Shauna has 3 dogs – Farrah, Barney and Thor – that she loves dearly, so I made a woodburning of the three of them for her.  I also made a woodburning of my sister Bonnie’s dog Buddy.  I used photographs I took earlier in the year of all the dogs.  It was so fun to surprise them with these special gifts.  They both absolutely loved them!

Here are images of the completed woodburnings and the photos I used for each of them.  I sketch free-hand onto the wood using the photos I took as a guide, then woodburn the details and shading and, if needed, add a light touch of color with colored pencil.  I then use a spray “fix” on the completed project.

Shauna’s dogs:

shaunas dogs

Finished woodburning

Finished woodburning

My sister Bonnie’s “Buddy”:

post buddy

Finished Woodburning

Finished Woodburning

I also do these on commission, so please let me know if you are interested in one for yourself or as a special gift.

