Tags

, , , , , ,

Our family is having an early family Christmas this year on December 13th due to various plans with the extended families the week of Christmas so, needless to say, I have been busy working on the gifts I am making, my handmade Christmas cards, some woodburned ornaments for close friends and family, holiday baking, and I always seem to fit in a new decoration or two to make each year.

One of my decorations was a tiny little bottle brush tree that I embellished with some of my mother’s pearls and other beads. I also created a winter scene in an apothecary jar. I bought the little cardboard church at Michael’s and then painted it, added snow dripping down the roof and then finished it off with some glass glitter. I put in some little bottle brush trees and two tiny deer. I ended up gluing the trees, church and deer to a circle of cardboard so they wouldn’t fall over, and set that in the jar and the sprinkled snow around the whole scene. It was so easy and fun to make. I made a smaller version for my two granddaughters to enjoy too.

winter scene

Saturday was bake day and every year I make a double batch of my mother’s sugar cookies. It just isn’t Christmas without them 🙂 I also made some chocolate crinkle cookies too. I love to have the whole day to myself in the kitchen – I turn on my Elvis’ Christmas CD and have a glass of eggnog and I’m all set. I do miss having our girls join with me on bake day, but all our schedules get quite full this time of year so it’s really hard to make that happen.

baking day

More photos of gifts I have made will come AFTER Christmas – I don’t want any of my friends or family to get a sneak preview.

Merry Christmas everyone!!

 

