Tags

, , , ,

I thought I would share some of the gifts, decorations, etc. I made for Christmas this year. One of the decorations I made that I didn’t share earlier is a tiny embellished bottle brush tree that I set in a small cup and saucer set. I had seen this miniature tree idea on Pinterest and just had to make one to put in my little cup and saucer set in the kitchen hutch. I embellished it with some of my mother’s beads and other items I had on hand.  The reason I didn’t post this BEFORE Christmas was that this tree is where I was going to hide the pickle this year for our annual Christmas game tradition and I just knew that certain members of my family (you know who you are!) would think “oh it’s a new tree, that’s where she’ll hide it this year”. So my plan worked out perfectly. Several people couldn’t find it at all and then we had 3 who finally discovered it. tiny bottle brush tree PM One of the gifts I made this year was a small miniature (seems like a theme I had this year) painting for my sister Bonnie. She and I had seen similar small paintings in a gallery when I had visited earlier in the year and we just loved them. She lives by the ocean so I painted a coastal scene for her. I almost kept it for myself, so I’ll have to make one for me soon. bonnies painted rotated For my sister Carol, I made a kitchen towel using a transfer method with Citra Solv that I found on The Graphics Fairy website. Carol has a darling house decorated in what I call “farmhouse country” and she has a lot of decor with roosters. I found the rooster transfer on The Graphics Fairy website also. The rooster image had some french words in a banner at the bottom and I decided to use Photo Shop and take those words out and I found the french words for “welcome to my kitchen” and typed those into the banner in a similar font. Then I created a mirror image so it would be readable when transfered onto the towel. I ordered a vintage looking towel with red stripes online and made my rooster image in a similar red color. I was SO amazed at how easy and professional looking the Citra Solv transfer method was. I also made a blue towel for myself using a bird and wreath image I also found on The Graphics Fairy website. rooster towel bird towel I had a woodburning order to do for my daughter-in-law of her mother’s dog, Daisy for Christmas. I also did a woodburning of my good friend Susan’s dog, Joey that I gave her for Christmas, and another one of a neighbor’s dog, Zach as a gift for them too.

original photo of Daisy

original photo of Daisy

my woodburning of Daisy

my woodburning of Daisy

original photo above and my woodburning below of Joey

original photo above and my woodburning below of Joey

original photo above and my woodburning below of Zach

original photo above and my woodburning below of Zach

I will be opening a shop on Etsy for my pet portraits near the end of this month, so will let you know when it is open. I just love creating portraits of people’s pets and giving them such a special memory.

Happy 2015 everyone!

