Tags

, , ,

 

Ok I confess, I am totally addicted to Pinterest!  I get more ideas that I recreate or enhance for our own use from browsing on Pinterest. My latest project is a bench my husband and I made out of a beautiful shabby chic headboard and footboard. I saw several of these benches made out of old bed frames on Pinterest and just knew that would be the perfect thing to make to put in the area of the backyard where we cut down a filbert tree earlier this year. We knew we couldn’t plant another tree in that area because of all the roots from the old tree that were just under the surface, so we decided a nice bench would look very nice there. So of course when I saw how awesome the benches made out of old bed frames looked online, I started my search on Craigslist and right away found a gorgeous set I just had to have for our project. We didn’t have the heart to tell the people we were going to cut it up to make a bench out of it though….

bed frame

We cut the footboard in half for the two sides/arms of the bench and figured out exactly where we wanted it to attach to the headboard (the back of the bench). The legs of the headboard were just square (unlike the legs of the footboard which were turned and had personality), so I went to our local Hippo Hardware store and found some ball feet that we attached to the headboard legs to give them more personality. The finish on the bed was exactly what I wanted so we just left it that way. We used the side boards of the bed frame for the front of the seat and the slat boards of the bed we used for the seat which I painted to match the rest of the bench. I made a foam cushion for it and we didn’t want to sit the bench right in the dirt, so we bought some 2′ square concrete pavers and set them in the flower bed for the legs to sit on.

bench4

 

bench1

 

 

 

 

bench3Once we put the bench in its “place” in the backyard we couldn’t get over how great it looks and how it is just a striking accent among the plants and fills in the empty space where the tree was just perfectly. I bought more shrubs to plant in and around the bench to soften the area and every time we look at the bench it makes us smile.

